A∴A∴ document classes

Crowley's A∴A∴ describes a list of documents, "libri", that it divides into five classes, A through E. The classifications are:

  1. Class A, books that may not be changed not so much as the style of a letter; that is, they represent the utterance of an Adept entirely beyond criticism.
  2. Class B, books or essays that are the result of ordinary scholarship, enlightened and earnest.
  3. Class C, matter that is to be regarded rather as suggestive than anything else.
  4. Class D, official A∴A∴ rituals and instructions.
  5. Class E consists of public announcements and broadsheets.

It can happen that only parts of a document fall into a given class, so a given document may be in multiple classes.

As you look through our collection of libri, you'll notice that we have some documents that don't fall into any of those classes. Our Class Z consists of parody, and "Other" are those documents that are not officially classified by A∴A∴.

If there's a document you want that you can't find listed, contact us. We might be able to point you at a copy.

In Oakland CA, it is
Thu, 18 Jul 2024 7:41 PM.
    Forgot user name/password